Frank Zappa - Joe's Garage Act One

Frank Zappa - Joe's Garage Act One

  • 1600

Originally Released: September 1979
Produced by: FZ


01. The Central Scrutinizer 3:28
02. Joe's Garage 6:10
03. Catholic Girls 4:19
04. Crew Slut 6:38
05. Fembot In A Wet T-Shirt 4:44
06. On The Bus 4:31
07. Why Does It Hurt When I Pee? 2:23
08. Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up 5:42
09. Scrutinizer Postlude 1:35


Recorded at Village Recorders "B," LA
April-June 1979

Mastered at Ken-Dun "D," LA
recording engineer Joe Chiccarelli
re-mix engineers Mick Glossop & Steve Nye

cover photo Norm Seeff
art director/illustrator John Williams


The Musicians:

FZ: lead guitar, vocals 
Warren Cuccurullo: rhythm guitar, vocals 
Denny Walley: slide guitar, vocals 
Ike Willis: lead vocals 
Peter Wolf: keyboards 
Tommy Mars: keyboards 
Arthur Barrow: bass, guitar (on Joe's Garage), vocals 
Patrick O'Hearn: bass on Outside Now and He Used To Cut The Grass
Ed Mann: percussion, vocals 
Vinnie Colaiuta: drums, combustible vapors, optometric abandon 
Jeff: tenor sax 
Marginal Chagrin: baritone sax 
Stumuk: bass sax 
Dale Bozzio: vocals 
Al Malkin: vocals 
Craig Steward: harmonica

The Cast:

FZ: Central Scrutinizer, Larry, L. Ron Hoover, Father Riley & Buddy Jones 
Ike Willis: Joe
Dale Bozzio: Mary 
Denny Walley: Mrs. Borg 
Al Malkin: Oficer Butzis 
Warren Cuccurullo & Ed Mann: Sy Borg 
Terry Bozzio: Bald-Headed John 
The Utility Muffin Research Kitchen Chorus: Al Malkin, Warren Cuccurullo, Dale Bozzio, Geordie Hormel, Barbara Issak & most of the people who work at Village Recorders


We Also Recommend